Tottenham fan OHara wants stupidest rule in football changed after Chelsea loss

Former Tottenham Hotspur star Jamie O’Hara took to Twitter to vent his frustration at how Harry Kane had a goal ruled out for offside against Chelsea on Wednesday night.

The Blues progressed into the final of the Carabao Cup with a 1-0 victory over Spurs, 3-0 on aggregate, but without VAR it could have been a completely different story for Antonio Conte’s men.

Spurs had a goal ruled out and they were awarded a penalty twice but both decisions were overruled.

Although both penalty decisions were correctly ruled out, with one foul coming outside the box and the second not even being a foul, it is the Kane goal being chalked off for offside that has got football fans talking.

Lucas Moura pounced upon a loose ball and passed the ball to the Englishman, who was stood in between Kepa and the goal, who converted.

However, goalscorer Antonio Rudiger had made his way back to the goal line and Kane was half a meter in front of the technical last man Andreas Christensen, meaning he was offside.

But O’Hara was fuming with the rule, telling his Twitter followers: “This rule is absolutely outrageous, how on Earth is that offside?

“I know the bloody rule but the rule is a joke and needs changing, Kepa dives in, loses it and we get punished, the most stupid rule in football.”

HAVE YOUR SAY! Should the offside rule be changed? Comment below.

Don't miss a thing with our football updates!

Want to be on the ball with all of the latest football news?

Well then sign up for the brilliant Daily Star football email newsletter!

From the latest transfer news to the agenda-setting stories, get it all in your email inbox – don't miss a thing.

How do you sign up?

It only takes a matter of seconds.

Simply type your email address into the box at the top of this article and hit 'subscribe'.

And that's it, job done. You'll receive an email with all of the top news stories every single morning.

You can find out more information on our email newsletter on this link here.

The comments were met with a mixed reaction, with some agreeing with the 35-year-old but others joking that the former Wolverhampton Wanderers star was fighting a losing battle in wanting the rule changed.

Some neutrals also called for O'Hara to elaborate on what he would change about the rule.

Chelsea dominated the match from start to finish and even if Kane’s goal stood, some will feel it is unlikely that Conte’s men would have continued to rally back and equalise the tie on aggregate.

Speaking after the match, Conte said: “I think that at the end of the two games, for sure Chelsea deserved to reach and play the final. We are, to be honest, and take this.

“In the second half, we created many chances to score. In the second leg, we deserved a better result than to lose 1-0. But you have to give a judgement after two games and Chelsea deserved to reach the final."

Source: Read Full Article