The Legends Trophy: Every confirmed driver for The Race All-Star Esports Battle event

With the global coronavirus pandemic disrupting the racing calendar, fans and drivers have turned their attentions to virtual races. This weekend, The Race debuts a new event called the Legends Trophy following the success of the All-Star Esports Battle.

The Legends Trophy will see drivers aged 40 and over compete against one another.

The race will be conducted on the rFactor 2 racing platform and will act as a prelude to the All-Star Esports Battle.

There will be a qualifying period to determine the starting grid and drivers will be competing with identical car specifications.

The line-up will feature F1 champions, IndyCar champions, Le Mans 24 Hours winners and Grand Prix racers.

ALSO SEE: Why F1 are targeting 15 races in 2020 as coronavirus wrecks schedule

The Legends Trophy is scheduled to get underway from 4pm GMT.

Fans can live stream the action via The Race’s YouTube channel.

Who is racing in the Legends Trophy?

Two-time F1 world champion Emerson Fittipaldi was one of the first to join the event.


  • F1 chief Chase Carey slammed as coronavirus predicted to halve season

“Simulators are extremely important because technically, they are so close to driving the real thing,” said Fittipaldi.

“You learn the track before you even arrive – where to brake, where to turn, even before arriving at any track in the world.

“And the feedback for the driver, the reaction, the reflex, the coordination, it’s a mental test and mental development for a young driver.

“I wish, in my time, we had simulators. My life would have been much easier!”

A full list of the confirmed drivers can be found below:

Emerson Fittipaldi – two-time F1 world champion

Helio Castroneves – three-time Indy 500 winner

Dario Franchitti – three-time Indy 500 winner

Juan Pablo Montoya – F1, IndyCar, NASCAR and IMSA race winner

Johnny Herbert – F1 race winner

David Brabham – Le Mans winner

Jan Magnussen – multiple Le Mans class winner and IMSA champion

Paul Tracy – IndyCar champion

Gil de Ferran – Indy 500 winner and series champion

Tony Kanaan – Indy 500 winner and series champion

Bryan Herta – IndyCar race winner

Adrian Fernandez – IndyCar race winner

Oriol Servia – IndyCar race winner

Max Papis – ex-F1, IndyCar and sportscar driver

Source: Read Full Article