Lewis Hamilton knighted as Jimmy Greaves and Rob Burrow receive New Year Honours

Sports Personality of the Year: Lewis Hamilton receives award

Lewis Hamilton leads the names honoured in the New Year Honours list after winning his seventh F1 world championship in 2020. The 35-year-old is now level with Michael Schumacher’s record which many thought would never be equalled.

Hamilton has not resided permanently in the UK since 2007, and his knighthood was included on the Diplomatic and Overseas List.

His maiden title was won with that team McLaren in 2008 but Sebastian Vettel and Red Bull then took centre stage, before a move to Mercedes for the 2013 season changed everything.

He won the world championship in 2014 and 2015, lost out to Nico Rosberg in 2016 but has dominated ever since, with 2020 his fourth title in a row.

The magnificent seven was completed in Turkey in November, and he won 11 races in the 2020 season in all.

He surpassed Schumacher’s record of 91 race wins with his triumph in Portugal in October.

Jimmy Greaves’ contribution to English football has been recognised with an MBE in the New Year Honours list.

Greaves, who turned 80 in February, was joined by former midfielder Ron Flowers in becoming the last surviving members of England’s 1966 World Cup-winning squad to be honoured.

Greaves scored 44 times across 57 appearances for his country, but an injury in the final group game of the 1966 finals led to him losing his place in the team to Sir Geoff Hurst, who went on to score a hat-trick in the final victory over West Germany while Greaves looked on from the sidelines.

Until 2017 Greaves held the record for the most career goals scored in Europe’s top five leagues – 366 – with Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo the man who finally surpassed him.

Rob Burrow hopes his MBE in the New Year Honours list will give comfort to fellow motor neurone disease sufferers and reassure them that their plight will not be ignored.

The 38-year-old former Leeds Rhinos player was diagnosed with the degenerative and life-limiting condition in 2019. The MBE is in recognition of his services to his sport but also respects how he has raised awareness of MND during the coronavirus pandemic.

He said: “It is truly humbling to be awarded an MBE and I would like to thank everyone who has made this possible.

“2020 has taught us all to appreciate the gifts we have and it is my honour and privilege to accept this award on behalf of all the MND community.

“I hope it gives people hope that we are not ignored and the drive for more research and support to end MND will not stop.

“I would like to thank my team-mates, coaches and opponents throughout my playing career. They shaped me into the man I am.

“The way the rugby league community has come together over the last 12 months to support me and my family speaks volumes about how special our sport is.

“Finally, I would like to thank my family. I know they have always been proud of me. This MBE is for them and I am looking forward to making another special memory when I am able to receive the award.”

New Year Honours List for sport


Lewis Hamilton MBE, for services to motorsport.

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Maggie Carver, chair of the Racecourse Association and deputy chair of Ofcom, for services to sport and media (Winchester, Hampshire).

Bob Champion MBE, founder of the Bob Champion Cancer Trust, for charitable services to prostate and testicular cancer research (Newmarket, Suffolk).

Peter Dawson OBE, chief executive and secretary of the Royal & Ancient Golf Club, for services to golf (St Andrews, Fife).

Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Brian Barwick, chairman of football’s National League, for services to sport and sport broadcasting (London, Greater London).

Rob Baxter, Exeter director of rugby, for services to rugby union (Exeter, Devon).

Dee Bradbury, Scottish Rugby Union president, for services to rugby union (Oban, Argyll and Bute).

Donna Fraser, Equality, Diversity & Engagement Lead, UK Athletics, for services to equality, to inclusion and to diversity in the workplace (Birmingham, West Midlands).

Barry Hearn, chairman of the World Snooker Tour and Professional Darts Corporation, for services to sport (Chelmsford, Essex).

Matt Hampson, founder of the Matt Hampson Foundation, for voluntary and charitable service (Cold Overton, Leicestershire).

Bill O’Hara, for services to sailing (Bangor, County Down).

Nick Rust, outgoing chief executive of the British Horseracing Authority, for services to horseracing (York, North Yorkshire).

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Kevin Aitchinson, chair of GB Wheelchair Rugby, for services to wheelchair rugby and to people with disabilities (Eynsford, Kent).

Colleen Blair, regional swimming development manager, Scottish Swimming, for services to Swimming (Aberfeldy, Angus).

Rob Burrow, for services to rugby and to Motor Neurone Disease awareness during Covid-19 (Pontefract, West Yorkshire).

Gillian Coultard, for services to football (Castleford, West Yorkshire).

Alan Curtis, for services to Welsh football (Swansea, West Glamorgan).

Susan Deaves, for services to athletics (Woking, Surrey).

Robert Dick, head coach of Scottish Disability Bowls, for services to disability sport (Cupar, Fife).

Katie Dodd, for services to hockey (Langport, Somerset).

Emma Evans, for services to goalball and athletes with visual impairments (March, Cambridgeshire).

Ron Flowers, for services to football (Stafford, Staffordshire).

Jimmy Greaves, for services to football (Little Baddow, Essex).

Damian Hopley, chief executive of the Rugby Players Association, for services to rugby union (London, Greater London).

Anne Keothavong Bretherton, captain of Great Britain’s Billie Jean King Cup team, for services to tennis (London, Greater London).

David Mahoney, chief operating officer of the England and Wales Cricket Board, for services to sport (London, Greater London).

Martin Mann, chair of the Special Olympics, for services to people with intellectual disabilities (Ipswich, Suffolk).

David McGowan, for services to sport and reconciliation in Northern Ireland (Magherafelt, County Londonderry).

John McGuiness, for services to motorcycle racing (Lancaster, Lancashire).

Mick O’Neill, chair of Keighley Cougars, for services to rugby league, the community in Keighley, West Yorkshire and to charity during the Covid-19 pandemic (London, Greater London).

Nigel Payne, former chair of the Professional Jockeys Association, for services to British horseracing and to charity, particularly during the Covid-19 response (Launceston, Cornwall).

Andrew Shelley, former chief executive at the World Squash Federation, for services to squash (London, Greater London).

Joe Simmonds, Exeter Chiefs captain, for services to rugby union (Exeter, Devon).

Paul Thorogood, former chief executive at the Football Foundation, for services to football (London, Greater London).

Shahab Uddin, director of legal at the British Olympic Association, for services to sport during the Covid-19 response (London, Greater London).

Brendan Warburton, head coach at Sheffield City Amateur Boxing Club, for services to boxing and to the community in Sharrow, Sheffield (Sheffield, South Yorkshire).

Bob Wright, for services to amateur boxing and to the young people in Parson Cross, Sheffield (Sheffield, South Yorkshire).

Roland Wycherley, chair of Shrewsbury Town Football Club, for services to the community in Shrewsbury (Shrewsbury, Shropshire).

Source: Read Full Article