Baseball Hall of Fame 2020: Ballot, voting and eligibility rules

Hall of Fame voting season is upon us.

This year features 32 players, including 19 first-timers. It’s headlined by a few interesting stories, as usual: How many votes will Derek Jeter get? Will Larry Walker finally make it in? What will come of Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens?

FAGAN: Derek Jeter is the only sure thing on 2020 ballot

There are a number of sneaky-underrated players on this year’s ballot as well, including Bobby Abreu, Andy Pettitte and Cliff Lee.

The ballot, voting and eligibility rules are all available below.

2020 Baseball Hall of Fame ballot

The 2020 Hall of Fame ballot features 32 players, including 19 first-year players.

All WAR numbers courtesy of Fangraphs.

When will Baseball Hall of Fame results be released?

Voting results for the 2020 Hall of Fame class will be revealed Jan. 21. 

Baseball Hall of Fame voting rules, eligibility

Active Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) members of 10 years or longer receive a ballot, including Sporting News’ Ryan Fagan. Writers can vote for up to 10 players on the ballot. Writers may also submit a blank ballot, which counts against players on the ballot. Writers can also abstain from voting by not submitting a ballot.

Players are eligible for the Hall of Fame ballot five years after their retirement, as long as they played at least 10 seasons in the majors. If a player unretires during the five years, then the clock for Hall of Fame eligibility is restarted.

Players are removed from the ballot if they do not receive at least 5 percent of the vote while on the ballot. Players are voted in if they receive 75 percent or more of the vote.

Source: Read Full Article