We’re the team that never lets you down: Carlton are T20 champions

Carlton Cricket Club has claimed a thrilling win in the final of the inaugural national Premier Twenty20 championships, toasting a one-run win over the University of Queensland in Adelaide.

The Blues were able to defend 8-154, with the Queenslanders unable to deliver the 11 runs required off the final over.

Blues skipper Evan Gulbis was delighted with his team's fight.

"We are just rapt to get the result. It's been a great few days. The boys played extremely well. I am so proud of them," he said.

The Blues began well, dashing to 51 off seven overs but fell away soon after with the Smyth brothers falling cheaply. But with Donovan Pell (43 off 27) and Lachlan McKenna (28 off 20) finding their groove, the Blues crunched 64 off the final five overs.

Pell and McKenna each enjoyed the 16th over, for Pell landed a lofty clip over mid-wicket for six, while McKenna, who had opened his stance, muscled a six over long off.

Jack Carty led University of Queensland with 3-11 off three overs while Nicholas Sale (1-27) and Jack Carty (1-20) also posed problems.

The Blues needed to strike early and Aaron Smillie delivered both openers. He finished with 4-28 to help the Blues taste success.

Gulbis, having contributed 28 off 20 as an opener, was unflappable with the ball in the final over.

The Blues had advanced into the final earlier in the day thanks to a 46-run win over Steve Smith's Sutherland, although the former Australian captain was unable to play as he recovers from elbow surgery.

Gulbis was dominant, crunching an unbeaten 107 off 56 deliveries, including 10 fours and five sixes, while Tom Smyth contributed 77 off 47 balls in a key stand of 153 which speared the Blues to 3-219.

This total was revised to 225 off 19 overs the Duckworth Lewis method. Jarryd Biviano (48 off 27) and Peter Saroukos (28 of 28) gave Sutherland the ideal platform in an opening stand of 84 but the Blues responded with two quick wickets, ultimately holding their opponents to 8-179.

National Premier Twenty20 competition qualifiers: Carlton (VIC), City Cyclones (NT), Dandenong (VIC), East Torrens (SA), Melville (WA), North Hobart (Tas), Sutherland (NSW), Sydney University (NSW), Tuggeranong Valley (ACT), University of Queensland (QLD)

Tournament awards: Player of the tournament: Michael Cranmer (East Torrens). Wicketkeepers award: Mitchell Fry (University of Queensland). Spirit of Cricket team award: Carlton Cricket Club.

Source: Read Full Article